Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

The Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (FRSO) is the orchestra of the Finnish Broadcasting Company (Yle). Its mission is to produce and promote Finnish musical culture and its Chief Conductor as of autumn 2013 has been Hannu Lintu.

The Radio Orchestra of ten players founded in 1927 grew to symphony orchestra proportions in the 1960s. Its Chief Conductors have been Toivo Haapanen, Nils-Eric Fougstedt, Paavo Berglund, Okko Kamu, Leif Segerstam, Jukka-Pekka Saraste and Sakari Oramo, and taking over from Hannu Lintu in 2021 will be Nicholas Collon.

The latest contemporary music is a major item in the repertoire of the FRSO, which each year premieres a number of Yle commissions. Another of the Orchestra's tasks is to record all Finnish orchestral music for the Yle archive.

The FRSO has recorded works by Ligeti, Eötvös, Nielsen, Hakola, Lindberg, Saariaho, Salonen, Sallinen, Kaipainen, Kokkonen and others. Its discs have reaped some major distinctions, such as the Gramophone Award, BBC Music Magazine Award and the MIDEM Classical Award.

The FRSO concerts are broadcast live on Yle Teema, Yle Areena and Radio 1 channels and are recorded and shown later on Yle TV 1.


Radion sinfoniaorkesteri
RSO & Dalia Stasevska & Petri Kumela

Dalia Stasevska
Petri Kumela, kitara
Antti Auvinen: Kitarakonsertto, kantaesitys (Ylen tilaus)
Felix Mendelssohn: Oktetto

Radion sinfoniaorkesteri
RSO & Nicholas Collon & Sophie Bevan

Nicholas Collon
Sophie Bevan, sopraano
Benjamin Britten: Les Illuminations op. 18
Felix Mendelssohn: Sinfonia nro 4 A-duuri “Italialainen” op. 90

Radion sinfoniaorkesteri
Vieraanamme Narek Hakhnazaryan

Hannu Lintu
Narek Hakhnazaryan, sello
Robert Schumann: Sellokonsertto a-molli op. 129
Arnold Schönberg: Verklärte Nacht op. 4

Radion sinfoniaorkesteri
Kiitos Hannu!

Hannu Lintu
Golda Schultz, sopraano
Maurice Ravel: Tombeau de Couperin
Joseph Canteloube: Lauluja Auvergnesta
Sebastian Hilli: Miracle, kantaesitys (Ylen tilaus)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sinfonia nro 2
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Vasks - Distant Light and other works
Hannu Lintu, kapellimestari
Reinis Birznieks, sello
Vadim Gluzman, viulu
Ilze Klava, alttoviulu
Angela Yoffe, piano
Sandis Šteinbergs, viulu
Peteris (Pēteris) Vasks: Concerto for violin and string orchestra ‘Distant Light’
Peteris (Pēteris) Vasks: Summer Dances (Vasaras dejas), for two violins
Peteris (Pēteris) Vasks: Quartet for Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Antti Auvinen: Junker Twist, Himmel Punk, Turbo Aria
Hannu Lintu, kapellimestari
Antti Auvinen: Junker Twist
Antti Auvinen: Himmel Punk
Antti Auvinen: Turbo Aria

ODE 1326-2
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Peter Lieberson: Songs of Love and Sorrow, The Six Realms
Hannu Lintu, kapellimestari
Gerald Finley, baritoni
Anssi Karttunen, sello
Peter Lieberson: Songs of Love and Sorrow
Peter Lieberson: The Six Realms

ODE 1356-2
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Magnus Lindberg: Accused, Two Episodes
Hannu Lintu, kapellimestari
Anu Komsi, sopraano
Magnus Lindberg: Accused, Three Interrogations for Soprano and Orchestra
Magnus Lindberg: Two Episodes for Orchestra


ODE 1345-2
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Hannu Lintu, kapellimestari
Witold Lutoslawski: Symphonies 2 & 3

ODE 1332-5 (SACD-hybrid)

PL 103
FI-00024 Yleisradio

Chief Conductor

Hannu Lintu

General Manager
Tuula Sarotie
+358 40 844 2666

Orchestra Manager
Sanna Moilanen
+358 40 510 0511

Executive Producer, Communication
Satu Kahila
+358 40 557 0053

Executive Producer, Marketing
Satumaija Peltoniemi
+358 40 860 3826

Päivi Juvonen
+358 40 830 2996

Music Librarian
Sebastian Djupsjöbacka
+358 40 147 4013

Stage Managers
Heikki Tikka
+358 40 557 0052
Mikael Tiittanen
+358 400 506 067

Executive Music Producer
Laura Heikinheimo
+358 40 830 2995

Founded 1927

Size 100 musicians

Concert venues

Helsinki Music Centre,
1704 seats

+358 600 10 800
(1,98 €/min+local access charge)

Telephone exchange
+358 9 14 801