Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra

Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra

The Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra, comprising 97 musicians, is one of Scandinavia's foremost symphony orchestras. Its Artistic Director as of 2013 has been chief conductor Santtu-Matias Rouvali.

The Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra performs at Tampere Hall, the largest concert hall in Finland. The orchestra plays symphony and chamber concerts, performs as resident opera and ballet orchestra and performs regularly at the Tampere Biennale contemporary music festival. Educational projects and other events for young listeners are a key focus of the orchestra. The Tampere Philharmonic has toured Europe, the United States and Japan.

Recently the orchestra has recorded for the Ondine label with conductors Santtu-Matias Rouvali, Hannu Lintu, Eri Klas, Leif Segerstam, John Storgårds, Tuomas Ollila and Leonid Grin. The latest recordings with Santtu-Matias Rouvali include Leonard Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances from the West Side Story. The orchestra has released over 50 recordings including music by George Enescu, Jouni Kaipainen, Uljas Pulkkis, Einojuhani Rautavaara, John Corigliano, and Jean Sibelius. Many of the albums have received excellent reviews and several awards, among which the Cannes Classical Disc of the Year 2004 Award and a total of five Cannes Classical Awards. The premiere recording of the opera Kaivos (The Mine) by Einojuhani Rautavaara was nominated for a Grammy in 2012.

The Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1930 and was municipalized by the City of Tampere in 1947.

Tampere-talo, iso sali

Tampere Filharmonia
Puistokonsertti 2020

Santtu-Matias Rouvali
Marjukka Tepponen, sopraano
Gioacchino Rossini: Alkusoitto oopperasta Semiramide (Semiramis), 11'
Charles Gounod: Sopraanoaaria Ah! Je veux vivre oop. Romeo et Juliette (valssi), 4'
Richard Strauss (ork. Johannes Doebber): Valsseja oopperasta Ruusuritari op. 59, 8'
Edward Elgar: Enigma-muunnelmat op. 36: Nimrod ja Finaali, 12'
Giacomo Puccini: Toscan rukous Vissi d'arte oopperasta Tosca, 3'
Luigi Arditi: Il Bacio (Suutelo), 4'
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sinfonia nro 7: Finaali, 8'
Heino Kaski: Preludi op. 7 nro 1, 4'
Oskar Merikanto: Kesäillan valssi op. 1, 5'
Oskar Merikanto (sov. Nils-Eric Fougstedt): Kun päivä paistaa, 3'
Jean Sibelius: Finlandia op. 26 nro 7, 8'
* Konsertti lähetetään suorana Yle Areenassa, ei yleisöä
Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra

Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
Santtu-Matias Rouvali, kapellimestari
Bernstein: Symphonic Dances (from West Side Story)
Oma markkinointilevy

FITH 18000 01-09 TFH 007
Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra

Göteborgs Symfoniker
American Concertos
Santtu-Matias Rouvali, kapellimestari
Baiba Skride, viulu
  Tampere Filharmonia:
Rózsa: Concerto op. 24 for Violin and Orchestra
Bernstein: Symphonic Dances (from: West Side
  Göteborgs Symfoniker:
Bernstein: Serenade for Violin, Strings, Harp and Percussion (after Plato's "Symposium", 1954)
Korngold: Concerto D major op. 35 for Violin and Orchestra

Orfeo C 932 182 I
Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra
Eppu Normaali: Ratina
Santtu-Matias Rouvali, kapellimestari
Eppu Normaali
Iiro Rantala, piano
Myös DVD, Blu-Ray ja LP
Sony Music EAN 6430065080022
Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra
George Enescu
Hannu Lintu, kapellimestari
Truls Mørk, sello
George Enescu: Symphonie Concertante sellolle ja orkesterille
George Enescu: Sinfonia nro 1
Ondine ODE 1198-2
Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra
Nielsen Sibelius
Santtu-Matias Rouvali, kapellimestari
Baiba Skride, viulu
Jean Sibelius: Viulukonsertto
Jean Sibelius: Kaksi serenadia, D-duuri ja g-molli
Carl Nielsen: Viulukonsertto
Orfeo C 896 152 A

Yliopistonkatu 55,
PL 16, FI-33101 Tampere
Fax +358 3 243 4400

Artistic Director
Santtu-Matias Rouvali

General Manager
Juha Ahonen
+358 50 411 3033

Production Manager
Lauri Lehtonen
+358 50 388 7119

Deputy General Manager
Elina Aho-Kuusama
+358 50 388 7133

Communications Designer
Arttu Rantakärkkä
+358 50 388 7168

Marketing Assistant
Tuula Musakka
+358 50 388 7144

Administrative Secretary
Riitta-Leena Yli-Tuomi
+358 3 243 4411

Administrative Secretary
Marja-Leena Niemi
+358 3 243 4403

Music Librarian
Pekka Koivisto
+358 50 388 7156

Stage Managers
Jarno Laaksonen
+358 50 388 7153

Stage Manager
Sanni Ala-Heikkilä
+358 46 920 2226

Founded 1930
(municipalized 1947)

Size 97 musicians

Concert venue
Tampere Hall, 1806 seats

Tickets +358 600 94500
(1,40 €/min + local access charge)
+358 600 900 900
(2,00 €/min + local access carge)

Telephone Exchange
+358 3 243 4300